Karl Lagasse

  • Country : France
  • Number of artworks : 41
Biography

Born into an family of artists in 1981 in Paris, Karl Lagasse is a French artist and sculptor. From a young age he began experimenting with plastic arts, in particular collages with his mother when he was 7 years old. At that age, he met the French sculptor César Baldaccini (1921 - 1998). The latter pushed him to pursue an artistic path. A few years later, he explored another means of expression by creating numerous pieces of graffiti in the Parisian metro. Under the guidance of the artist Yvaral Vasarely (1934 - 2002), son of Hungarian artist Victor Vasarely (1906 - 1997), Karl Lagasse incorporated his tags into his collages.  

Karl Lagasse's artistic career began in 1996, when at the age of 15 he sold his first work in Antwerp. In 2003, Karl organised his first exhibition in Paris in which he exhibited works combining painting and collage techniques. His first solo exhibition took place in 2006. During this exhibition, he presented his famous "Buildings" at the Isy Brachot gallery in Brussels. 

2009 was to be the artist's breakthrough year. Indeed, Lagasse gained notoriety thanks to his "One Dollar" sculptures and was ranked among the top ten sculptors in the world under 30 by Artprice. In 2012, the artist was named one of the top fifty contemporary artists who were inspired by American icons. The same year, Lagasse created the sculpture "Building". This bronze sculpture was created for the 65th Cannes Film Festival and represents the history of the festival. 

During 2014, the artist was contacted by Maserati for a collaboration to celebrate the Italian brand's centenary and the worldwide launch of the new Ghibli12. A year later, Karl Lagasse and Maserati once again collaborated together on a monumental installation entitled "A Piece of Heaven on Earth". The work consists of a Maserati covered with white plastic film and a statue of Jesus Christ, whose feet are covered in a number of "One Dollar" sculptures. The latter represents the repayment of humanity's greatest debt.

More recently, at the Art Paris Art Fair in 2016, the President of the Republic François Hollande personally congratulated the artist on the success of his work "One Dollar", a bronze sculpture measuring two metres high displayed in the Grand Palais.

In 2017, Karl Lagasse created the trophy for the winners of the 43rd edition of the Deauville American Film Festival.

Best known for his "One dollar" sculpture, his "Buildings" are inspired by New York skyscrapers. Moreover, they are constructed as points of reflection on his personality and on the world around him. Karl Lagasse's works are inspired by both the American world and his personal need to "build himself, to elevate himself". His works are the result of his admiration for the United States. In addition, his "One Dollar" illustrates for the artist what can be made with only one dollar. These sculptures, Lagasse makes them red, blue, purple or even yellow - but they all keep the metallic finish that is unique to aluminium. "Making art with $1" is therefore quite an art.

Read more

Artworks

Loading...

Karl Lagasse

  • Pays : France
  • Nombre d'oeuvres : 1
Biographie

Né au sein d'une famille d'artiste en 1981 à Paris, Karl Lagasse est un artiste et sculpteur français. Très jeune, il commença à pratiquer les arts plastiques, il commence notamment le collage à l'âge de 7 ans avec sa mère. Au même âge, il fait la rencontre du sculpteur français César Baldaccini (1921 - 1998). Ce dernier le pousse à poursuivre une voie artistique. Quelques années plus tard, il explore un autre moyen d'expression en réalisant de nombreux graffitis dans le métro parisien. Et sous les conseils de l'artiste Yvaral Vasarely (1934 - 2002), fils de l'artiste hongrois Victor Vasarely (1906 - 1997), Karl Lagasse intègre ses tags à ses collages.  

La carrière artistique de Karl Lagasse débute en 1996, alors âgé de 15 ans il vend sa première oeuvre à Anvers. Au cours de l'année 2003, Karl prépare sa première exposition à Paris dans laquelle il expose des oeuvres mêlant les techniques de la peinture et du collage. Sa première exposition personnelle eu lieu en 2006. Durant cette exposition, il présente ses fameux «Buildings» au sein de la galerie Isy Brachot située à Bruxelles. 

L'année 2009 fût une année de consécration pour l'artiste. En effet, il gagne en notoriété grâce à ses sculptures «One Dollar» et est classé parmi les dix meilleurs sculpteurs du monde de moins de 30 ans par Artprice. En 2012, l'artiste est cité comme faisant parti des cinquante meilleures artistes contemporains tirants leurs inspirations grâce aux icônes américaines. La même année, Karl Lagasse réalise la sculpture «Building». Cette sculpture en bronze fut réalisée à l'occasion du 65e festival de Cannes et représente l'histoire de ce dernier. 

Au cours de l'année 2014, l'artiste est contacté par Maserati dans le but de réaliser une collaboration pour fêter le centenaire de la marque italienne et le lancement mondial de la nouvelle Ghibli12. Un an plus tard, Karl Lagasse et Maserati collabore une nouvelle fois ensemble dans le cadre de la réalisation d'une installation monumentale intitulée «A Piece of Heaven on Earth». Cette œuvre est composée d'une Maserati couverte de film de plastique blanc et d'une statue représentant Jésus Christ. Les pieds de ce dernier sont recouverts de plusieurs sculptures «One Dollar». Ces dernières représentent le remboursement de la plus grande dette de l'humanité. 

Plus récemment en 2016, à l'occasion de l'Art Paris Art Fair, le président de la république François Hollande félicite personnellement l'artiste pour le succès de son oeuvre «One Dollar», une sculpture en bronze mesurant deux mètres de haut exposées au Grand Palais. 

Karl Lagasse réalise, au cours de l'année 2017, le trophée récompensant les lauréats de la 43éme édition du Festival du Film américain de Deauville.

Surtout connu pour ses «One dollar», ses «Buildings» sont inspirés des gratte-ciels New-Yorkais. De plus, elles se construisent comme des points de réflexion sur sa personne et sur le monde qui l'entoure. Les oeuvres de Karl Lagasse s'inspirent et le monde américain et son besoin personnel «de se construire, de s'élever». Ses oeuvres résultent de son admiration pour les Etats-Unis. De surcroît, ses «One Dollar» illustre pour l'artiste ce qu'il est possible de faire pour un dollar seulement. Ces sculptures, Lagasse les produit rougesbleuesviolettes ou mêmes jaunes - mais elles conservent le fini métallique unique à l'aluminium. «Faire de l'art avec 1$» c'est donc tout un art.

Lire plus

Ses oeuvres

En cours de chargement...